Do Mormons Believe In The Holy Trinity?

Mormons never use the word trinity because we believe in the Godhead as explained in the first article of faith; “We believe in God, the Eternal Father, and in His Son, Jesus Christ, and in the Holy Ghost”. We believe they are separate beings but one in the same purpose; providing a plan of salvation for mankind.

The account of our redeemer’s baptism distinctly describes a physical separation of all three members of the Godhead at the same place and time. Many question, just as John the Baptist did, why Jesus Christ would need to be baptized when he hadn’t committed any sins. More relevant, how does the perfect Son of God getting baptized “fulfill all righteousness” (Matthew 3:15)? The Holy Ghost was described as “descending like a dove, and lighting upon” Christ the moment He came out of the water (Matthew 3:16). The Lord then spoke from heaven the words “This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased” (Matthew 3:17). This instance shows that the Savior was baptized to set the example for all children of God, by demonstrating perfect obedience to His Father in Heaven.

There are many accounts in the Bible which can be confusing without separating the three Members of the Godhead from each other. Christ explained clearly the relationship and separateness of the Godhead in a prayer He offered to His Heavenly Father found in John chapter 17. Starting in verse 20 He implores “Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word; That they all may be one; as thou, Father, art in me, and I in thee, that they also may be one in us: that the world may believe that thou hast sent me. And the glory which thou gavest me I have given them; that they may be one, even as we are one. I in them, and thou in me, that they may be made perfect in one; and that the world may know that thou hast sent me, and hast loved them, as thou hast loved me.”

I pray to my Heavenly Father through and in the name of His Son Jesus Christ. I am forgiven, for my sins and wavering obedience, and made perfect only through the atonement of my Savior Jesus Christ. And I know the truthfulness of the Gospel of Jesus Christ through the power and prompting feelings of the Holy Ghost. As I do my best to align my heart, mind, strength and desires to the Savior’s, I know I strive to become one with the Godhead.

Picture taken from mormon.org

Comments
4 Responses to “Do Mormons Believe In The Holy Trinity?”
  1. Jessica Horosko says:

    I was born and raised catholic. At 18 i met my husband and fell in love with the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Everything fell into place like it had been stored in a treasure chest in the back of my mind, waiting to be unlocked. Questions never came to me because i so easily accepted the ways of our Church…except for the trinity. Growing up in a catholic family and attending a catholic education system, i believed in the trinity as one. in eighth grade we were asigned a project to portray how it can be possible to be 3 separate beings while still having the same purpose. i do not remember what i chose, but i do know that i didnt receive a good grade because at the time i did not understand the concept of 3 in 1. many people still make the mistake of believing that God is Jesus is the Holy Ghost. This is not right. that middle school project that took place when i was 13 is now showing itself in full light, and today i recalled what one student submitted: a stop light. the green is for go, the yellow is for caution and the red is for stop. they are 3 unique colors that all have their own important meaning in keeping us safe, yet they are all unified in one mechanism. this is not unlike the trinity. The spirit of God can manifest itself as the Heavenly Father, as the Lord Jesus, and as the Holy Ghost. Together they are powerful in guiding us, teaching us, blessing us and protecting us. Yet they each posses different strengths, the Father created us and all we know, His Son taught us and died for our sins, and the Holy Ghost inspires us and guides us. Although this usderstanding has been out of reach to me for the last ten years, i am in possession of it now and it freels great to understand!

  2. James Nelson says:

    But is the Holy Father’s beloved Son deity — divine?

  3. Nate says:

    I am not sure exactly what you are asking. I found this article from LDS Newsroom that may clear up any confusion. To read the article click here.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. [...] 1. We believe in God, the Eternal Father, and in His Son, Jesus Christ, and in the Holy Ghost. [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

